Rocky Mount Telegram Can’t Count—or how to screw up a copy & paste in one easy lesson.

image

Maybe I’m wrong about this. If so, email me and (if you make sense)  I’ll take this down. The headline says 50 dealers, $850m.  OK-stop. That is $850 million, as in dollars?  Right?

But, as I read the article, it terns out only to be $850,000.  Now, here’s my problem: this is a cut and paste press release, probably emailed to the Telegram.  I get ‘em all the time.  All you have to do is read the damn thing, copy what you want, and them paste it into into your blog, website, or (in this case) newspaper.

This is not rocket science.  So simple, that I must be missing something. I’ve got to be reading this wrong, right?  But, I’m now looking at the little ad above the article: Ask Me Why I LOVE ROCKY MOUNT.  I remember the article that first came out about the Love Rocky Mount website. Wonderful article, except for one thing, one simple little thing.  They (the City and group that put site together) asked everyone not to publish the website cause it wasn’t anything there. Yep, just a shell.

But, as a head start to get things hopping, the site was given out to news, radio, tv, etc. But, with specific instructions: don’t publicize this yet. Well, the Telegram published the site address and some feathers got ruffled.  To me it’s no big deal. But, on second thought…maybe it is. 

Maybe there’s something a little deeper we need to discover. Yea, I think so. 

In fact, let’s talk about this very thing…Wednesday night from 7-8p on the Connections Talk Show. This certainly will not be the only topic, but you need to know a few things about how the little mistakes make big impacts in how we relate to each other.

About George Fisher

George is a freelance writer, an author and a Democratic political consultant. He has worked as Deputy Communications Director for a Senatorial campaign and Campaign Manager for several NC House races and one congressional race. He previously worked as a news producer for a local television station.
This entry was posted in Media, Rocky Mount Telegram, WNCR TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

