Utilities and the Rocky Mount City Budget. Did I “Go Off On” Bronson (107.3)? NO. Here’s Way

I’ve had a few emails saying I “went off” on Bronson on my last talk show…now, let me explain for those who will listen.

Bronson Williams has a talk show on 107.3 WBOB and he also runs the boards on my show Connections with George Fisher on WNCR TV.

First of all, yesterday (Tuesday), I addressed some concerns his callers had when he was on my show on Monday.  Bronson had addressed the issue of the Rocky Mount City Council voting down a night time public meeting during what was “suppose” to be the public meeting at the regular council session Monday afternoon at 4pm.

Let me say this in a simpler way: Bronson goes to the 4pm public meeting and says he wanted another public meeting so more people could attend and express their concerns.  –First off, I see what he’s saying and to some extent I agree with him. The Budget went online on Monday morning…the public hearing was at 4pm—that’s really not giving people much of an advanced notice.

The problem I have with it is that you don’t wait until the 4pm public meeting and then want another meeting, just because people didn’t show up, and/or there wasn’t enough time for some people to evaluate the budget.  Keep in mind, there are no secret meeting…everything is calendared in advance. All of us, including Bronson, could have looked at the schedule and could have called our ward reps and asked that the schedule be changed. That didn’t happen!  –So, as the old saying goes…”lack of planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on my part.”

In any event, the Council voted down another public hearing and Bronson had “a few things to say about that.”

I spoke with Bronson both before his talk show and after. I expressed my concerns over what he was proposing to do to rectify this problem.  And, to be honest, I don’t agree with all of what he wants to do. 

So, as a good talk show host, I had Bronson on my show Monday night to discuss the issues he addressed on his Talk show.  Not to rehash the same ideas, but to clarify what he was saying and to address some concerns that I didn’t think was addressed on his show.

Keep in mind, I’m not against Bronson.  Bronson is a friend and will most likely always be. But, friends don’t always agree.  I’ll go so far as to say that if you have a “friend” that agrees with you all the time, he’s really not your friend…he’s just telling you what you want to hear.

The Characteristics of My Show:

If you call into my Show or come on the show, you’re not going to be patted on the back, told what a wonderful job you’re doing in the community, or given softball questions a third grader could answer.  Frankly, I’ve seen WHIG and to some extent WNCR do that for too long.  It seems, locally, if you’re on a talk show you’re given Carte Blanche; the real issues are skirted away for the “warm and fuzzy” feeling you’re expected to get.

Frankly, that (to me) is bullshit.

I will not apologize for making people think. Nor, will I apologize for putting tough questions to callers and guests. 

Finally, I enjoy having the 107.3 audience watch my show. But, keep your religion in Church. WNCR and well as most of WHIG and some local radio programs have ample time for you to praise the Lord. My show is not the place.  I realize that  most of the local media is “religiously oriented”. My show however, is not.  If you (a caller or guest) thinks someone is especially “anointed” by God to do or say something in a particular way and you want to go into a spill about that…you will be disappointed that your time allotment on my show will be short.  But, if you want to “preach” most of the local TV channels will be more than happy to sell you a spot so you can preach to your hearts content.

Fair? I think so.  In the end, Bronson and I will remain friends. Just like I am friends with others who have opinions whether I agree with them or not.  So, If you can’t handle that…I suggest you stay cocooned in your shell, because you surely aren’t living in the real world. 

About George Fisher

George is a freelance writer, an author and a Democratic political consultant. He has worked as Deputy Communications Director for a Senatorial campaign and Campaign Manager for several NC House races and one congressional race. He previously worked as a news producer for a local television station.
This entry was posted in Connections on WNCR and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

