My Son at Awards Day, last week. –Hey, a Dad’s gotta brag.

2010-06-02_01-17-50-769

It always amazes me when I can catch my son in a pose that doesn’t turn out blurry or chopped.  This one was taken on Awards Day at Benvenue Elementary School last week. Noah, took home two awards.  I’ve already got them framed and hanging on the wall.  Hey, a Dad’s gotta do what a Dad’s gotta do.

You know it’s never easy for parents to get off work for these events. A lot of companies simply don’t let their employees off for anything…let alone an awards day.  What really touched my heart was the number of Dad’s I saw in the gym. 

The story that doesn’t get told are the Dads that sit in the back, make eye contact with their child, and without looking bored, sit thought the whole event and take in all the action. 

Yes, I’m a single father.  And, I know there are a lot of other single fathers doing the same thing I was doing that day.  Enjoying the moment and feeling welled up with pride. I’m not going to turn this into a Mastercard commercial, but pics like this are priceless.

About George Fisher

George is a freelance writer, an author and a Democratic political consultant. He has worked as Deputy Communications Director for a Senatorial campaign and Campaign Manager for several NC House races and one congressional race. He previously worked as a news producer for a local television station.
This entry was posted in Good Fathers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

