I Co-Hosted Jammin’ 99.3 This Morning: Robert Draper Called-in to Respond to Criticism Over GQ Article and Manley Comments. Snap Shot: Draper Dug A Deep Hole!

2010-06-23_15-46-35-0382010-06-23_17-08-28-244

Quick Notes: Alan Gurganus author of “The Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All” put Robert Draper onto this Rocky Mount story.  Apparently, the two (Draper & Gurganus) are friends and were talking about the Murdered and Missing Women.  The short take regarding the Jammin’ 99.3 show this morning was Draper’s less than vigorous arguments for the GQ article.  He referred to the article as a “product” and had very kind words to say about Chief John Manley.  

In my opinion, Draper’s interview techniques are akin to a spider and a fly.  He draws you into the web.  (read on)

—–

First off, thanks DP for letting me co-host this Wide-Awake-Wilson show.  I’d love to do it again.  DP’s show airs M-F from 6:30-9:00 A.M.  I encourage everyone to catch it.

Robert Draper called in to the show on the 8 o’clock hour and responded to criticism over the “Lost Girls of Rocky Mount” article published in the June issue of GQ.  Interestingly,  neither DP nor I threw down the gauntlet on Draper. One of Draper’s first remarks (rather, one of the first I paid attention to) was that Combs had indicated his (Draper’s) article was slanted to accommodate his upcoming book.  Draper flatly denied that and said the Rocky Mount story would not be in his book. 

I find that quite odd because the GQ fact checker asked Curmilus Dancy (thepoliticalagitator.com) a lot of questions over Michelle Obama’s visit to Rocky Mount.  And, the Obama election connection is clear in “The Lost Girls” article.

Draper did anticipate some controversy today.  He had Rocky Mount Police Chief John Manley’s transcript readily available and read it to us over the air.  To me, Draper did nothing but dig his hole a little deeper as he –in my opinion-clearly took Chief Manley’s comment out of the context of Manley’s whole statement.

I’ve had several  phone calls, emails, and text messages asking me why I really had nothing “nice” to say to or about Robert Draper.  Well, for one thing, if Draper thinks he wasn’t given a fair shake, he’s more than welcomed to come on my show. 

Secondly, Draper was given a “fairer” shake than the people he’s misquoted or taken out of context.  Draper, who certainly enjoys talking about himself, has a way of luring well-meaning people into conversations that leave room for …how does one say it? Speculation.  No different than “come into my parlor said the spider to the fly”.

I’d have more respect for Draper if he’d grow some balls by simply asking Manley the straightforward question of "you just don’t give a shit about these dead women…do you?”  That would certainly be better than the GQ “dance” that was published.

I can honestly say I’ve met a lot of politicians and CEO’s.  At the end of the day, some are good and some not.  John Manley is certainly one of the better individuals I’ve met.  With over 30 years of law enforcement, he still has a drive to secede and a caring attitude.  You don’t find that every day.  But, the longer I stay in this “business” the more Robert Draper’s I meet.  Today, I took out the bug stray!

About George Fisher

George is a freelance writer, an author and a Democratic political consultant. He has worked as Deputy Communications Director for a Senatorial campaign and Campaign Manager for several NC House races and one congressional race. He previously worked as a news producer for a local television station.
This entry was posted in Connections on WNCR, DCN TV, John Manley, Media, RMPD, Robert Draper, Rocky Mount NC and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Co-Hosted Jammin’ 99.3 This Morning: Robert Draper Called-in to Respond to Criticism Over GQ Article and Manley Comments. Snap Shot: Draper Dug A Deep Hole!

  1. Pingback: Robert Draper Who Wrote The GQ Magazine Article “The Lost Girls Of Rocky Mount” Interview On Local Radio Station « The Political Agitator

Leave a Reply

