Sparks Flew As I Co-hosted Jammin’ 99.3 Morning Show!

jammin

 

jeff colins

Jeff Collins, NC House Dist. 25

As someone emailed me after the show, no I do not need to read How to Win Friends and Influence People.  (I have a copy and it didn’t do any good!)

I’ll get to the “Jeff Collins” story in a minute, but first I’d like to thank DP (David Perkins) for having me on the show: It’s always good to be with him and even though we rarely agree on anything, I consider him a friend.  (after this morning’s show, him liking me may be a different story)

I’ll restate, again, what I said on the show and I stick by it 100 percent: DP had been on the fence about Sanderson Farms since November.  He’s talked to every major player in this argument and he’s gathered fact and opinion from all sides: so, in my humble opinion, either “crap” or get off the pot!  This ain’t “rocket science!” DP knows what the issues are about.  By using some “critical thinking skills” I have to wonder if, by not taking a stand, DP’s actually taking his stand!  Am I reading more into it than what’s there? Maybe…or maybe not.

Now, on to Jeff Collins…

Jeff called into the show on is way to the House (NCGA) and was very clear that he was not going to take a stand, one way or the other, about the Sanderson Farms issue.  Good for him!  Had he left it at that everything would have been fine and dandy.  But, he went into a a spiel about his wife taking “the latest survey” and he weighed-in on what he called “propaganda” from “both sides”. 

So, in a nutshell, here’s my points about Jeff:

1. Learning (and commenting) about a survey taken by your wife is a second-hand source. 

2. Jeff is not an “average” citizen, he’s an elected Rep. to the NC House…that put’s him on a “higher” playing field.

3. As an elected official, don’t cite second hand sources, even if the source is your wife (at least not in public anyway).

4. When you say you’re not going to take a stand, then DON’T!  Using words like “propaganda” et al. (about the issue you’ve already said you’re not going to take a stand) is tantamount to taking a stand.  (ad nauseam)

In any event, DP felt the “need” to apologize to Jeff for my taking issue with Jeff’s comments.  Oh, well.  (background violin music, omitted)

My take on the Sanderson Farms issue is posted in my January 3 article; you can scroll down and read it. 

Do I want Sanderson to come to Nash county?  Yes, we need every damn job we can get. 

Does it need to be built along Hwy 97?  No, it’s too convoluted and too messy (see Jan 3). 

Do, I think Wilson has a case? Yep, they have every right to litigate this matter!

Will it make a difference?  That depends on the trial court’s findings of fact and the law applied to those facts, plain and simple (element after element after element).  And, it’ll also depend on the Appellate Courts interpretation.  Having said all of that, I sleep a lot better at night knowing that, in the end, the Court’s determination will “win the day” and not a politician’s citing secondary sources.

About George Fisher

George is a freelance writer, an author and a Democratic political consultant. He has worked as Deputy Communications Director for a Senatorial campaign and Campaign Manager for several NC House races and one congressional race. He previously worked as a news producer for a local television station.
This entry was posted in Chicken Processing Plant Debate, David Perkins, Funny Stories, Jammin 99.3, Jeff Collins, Nash and Wilson Counties, Sanderson Farms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

