Westboro Baptist church– all bad things come to an end

From Kansas–

14The leader of the Westboro Baptist Church, Fred Phelps, died having succumbed to a terminal illness.  As much as I would like to celebrate this man’s passing, my upbringing and my sense of morality tells me not to.

The Westboro Baptist Church, spewed enough Hate upon the ground To last a lifetime.  And I will not take it upon myself to further propagate that ideology just because its leader has left this earth.

For years, I would watch on TV the followers of Fred Phelps and the members of Westboro Baptist Church As they would picket the funerals of our fallen soldiers. They would gather in the name of Christ– raising hateful signs  and chanting hateful messages– In earshot of the family members and friends of the soldiers returning from Iraq and Afghanistan  .Soldiers that paid the ultimate price, ironically, giving their lives for free speech.  The very free speech which affords the Westboro Baptist Church– hatemongers that they are– the right to express their opinion in an open and free society.

No, I will not Celebrate this idiot’s death anymore than I would celebrate his life.  In fact, I hope to do what I feel is the ultimate disservice to him, his followers and the misguided members of his church– I plan to forget his name,  And I plan to forget they ever existed in the first place.

I want to forget every single thing I’ve ever seen on TV are that I’ve ever read in the Newspapers about the ideology of this twisted cult.  And I want to remember that God does not hate gays and lesbians and God does not kill soldiers out of anger because of someone’s sexual identity.  And I don’t believe God despises any one particular country because of that country’s tolerance in the choice of one’s lifestyle.

1Instead, what I would like to believe is that God embraces differences with love and compassion,  Providence does not hate and Providence is not vindictive.  Those two actions are totally humanistic and conceptually flawed.

There will be others that will follow in the wake of Westboro Baptist Church.  No doubt, there will be others like Fred Phelps who will be more than eager to take up the cause of hatred in the name of righteousness.  And the whole process will start all over again.

But that doesn’t mean that we should tolerate their viewpoint or ideology.  And that also doesn’t mean that we should give them one minute of air time or one ounce of credibility.  I believe we gave Westboro Baptist Church Way too much national exposure.  And unfortunately national exposure equates to credibility in the eyes of some.

So if we’ve learned anything in this whole experience maybe we will not repeat the mistake of acknowledging the existence of this kind of hatred.

After all, with all the problems in the world do we really want to take the time to focus our efforts on the likes of Fred Phelps and the Westboro Baptist Church?   I would hope that we can all agree that the answer would be no.

–dictated by Alltxt, Speech-to-text recognition software

About George Fisher

George is a freelance writer, an author and a Democratic political consultant. He has worked as Deputy Communications Director for a Senatorial campaign and Campaign Manager for several NC House races and one congressional race. He previously worked as a news producer for a local television station.
This entry was posted in Connections with George Fisher, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

